Grade scales and examinators

There is a grade scale of seven at KTH; A,B,C,D,E,Fx and F. These are for grading levels of both advanced and basic courses but also degree projects. A-E means you've passed the examination where A is top score. Some courses have "P" for passing and "F" for failing but these are special cases. What kind of grading system a course is based on is available in the course plan. The meaning behind that the grade scale is goal-representative is that the grade is to have a direct link with the goals needed to complete the course. It is therefore important to make sure that the examination checks that the goals have been reached.

The examiner is resposible for the grading. Most of the times the course leader is the examiner for the course, though sometimes the KTH system of rules decalres that an extern examiner is needed. There might be other reasons for needing an extern examiner too.

Elder courses may have the old grade scale system (U, 3, 4, 5, where 5 is highest). This means that the students still doing the course should still recieve the old scale system grades.

Grading written examination

There is no routine for how to grade written examinations.

Grading laboratory examination

Grading laboratory examinations occurs on some courses. These grades are individual. The grades should like any other grading be based on functionality, quality, understanding and presentation. If possible the grade requirements should be stated. If possible there should be one teacher grading all the students on a course.

Some courses have laboratory examinations that give only an E. For a higher grade extra assignments is needed.

Some courses have different laboratory assignments for each grade so that the students themself can choose what grade they'll get beforehand.

Grading a whole course

A course is often built of several parts (ladokparts), for example a laborative examination and a written examination. These parts are presented in the courseplan. Each part is graded individually, when the course is done the different grades are evaluated against each other to give a final grade. The examiner is the one to evaluate the grades. In those cases where a course only have one graded part in it the graded part is representative for the final grade.

It is important when the course starts that the parts representative for the final grade is stated.


The year of 2007 KTH made a decision to give the students the ability to complement their grades, look at the system of rules for more info. The student who reaches the level of complementary but do not pass the course will have a time to within six weeks complement their examination, this by doing some sort of extra work (favorably on the failed parts needed to pass). The courseleader contacts the student on when and how to do this complementary. If the student succeeds in complement their work the grade "E" is normally given. The student is first registered in Ladok with the grade "Fx" which means failed, If the student fails the complementary the new grade will be "F" (if the examiner deem it reasonable he/she is able to give another chance at the complementary). If the student haven't done the complementary after the time runs out he/she will get the grade "F".

Improving upon grades, "plussning"

The year of 2007 KTH made a decision to give the students the ability to improve their results, for example from "E" to "D". This is done by a written examination even if the student already have passed the course. The student cannot improve their grades upon a degree project or other project-based courses. If improving upon grades is not available it is to be stated at the course start.

This may include extra work for the examiner. If this is available most students will just pass the course to improve their results later when they have time.

How to convert old grades to ECTS-grades

Due to the lack of students getting examined with the old grades this converter is needed less and less. This ECTS-scale is made so that the other european countries can understand it without any problem.

You can convert the grades using this chart:

Old system ECTS-scale
3 D
4 B
5 A
6 A
Top page top